Region VIII travel awards reimburse travel, registration and hotel expenses of up to $1,000 for one Region VIII research administrator.

Find out about the experience of attending meetings from some of our past awardees.

Regional Meeting Travel Award

The NCURA Regional Meeting travel award supports attendance at the Regional Meeting.

The Regional Meeting travel award is closed.

Annual Meeting Travel Award

The NCURA International Region Travel Award  supports attendance at the NCURA Annual Meeting.  These meetings are held in Washington D.C. in August of each year. The 63rd Annual Meeting will be Hybrid Meeting held between August 30 – September 2, 2021.

The Annual Meeting award is now closed.

Awards valued at $500 each are provided to Region VIII members to reimburse costs associated with registration expenses to the Annual Meeting. The Region VIII Executive Committee selects the successful recipients based on the submitted application and letter of support. The Region VIII Executive Committee makes the final decision on the number of travel awards granted depending on the number of applications and budget available. Travel awardees submit a report within a month of the meeting, describing their experience and benefit from attending the meeting.

Previous Travel Award recipients

2021 award winner: Esin Morcos, University of Technology Sydney

2019 award winner: Ozge Sahin, Sabanci University, Turkey

2018 award winner: Hanna Salo, University of Turku, Finland

2017 award winners: Luca Wacker, ETH Zurich|University of  Zurich & Carole Amroune, Grants Manager, ISGlobal, University of Barcelona

2016 award winner: Barbara Slattery, Manager Research Information at the University of Melbourne.

2015 award winner: Leslie Fernandez, Finance & Facilities Administrator Mechanical Engineering, University of British Columbia.